Follow Us:
NREF Post-Residency Clinical Fellowship Program

As the premier funder of neurosurgical studies and education, the Neurosurgery Research and Education Foundation (NREF) focuses on providing fellowship funding in basic neuroscience and neurosurgical programs in North America.

The NREF encourages institutions to apply for funding for clinical neurosurgical fellowships in spine surgery, endovascular neurosurgery, general neurosurgery, neurocritical care, neurosurgical oncology, other cerebrovascular-related fellowships, pediatric neurosurgery, peripheral nerve surgery and stereotactic/functional neurosurgery.

The NREF will be responsible for all aspects of the fellowship grant program, including acceptance, review and approval of fellowship grant applications. The NREF will award fellowship grants based upon established program eligibility criteria and the needs of the requesting institution.

Funding for spine and endovascular fellowships may be available up to $75,000 per fellowship, per year. Funding for other subspecialty fellowship areas may be available up to $50,000 per fellowship, per year. For all programs, grants may be awarded in lesser amounts, depending upon the need and the support available. Fellowship grant funding is intended to cover the stipend for the fellow. Other allowable expenses include salary and benefits, education and research expenses (travel and registration fees to nationally recognized meetings/courses), books, licenses, malpractice insurance, etc.

The application deadline for the 2016-2017 Post-Residency Clinical Fellowship Application has been extended to Aug. 31, 2015. To download the application, click here

The NREF recognizes the following corporations for their support of the NREF Post-Residency Clinical Fellowship program for the 2014-2015 academic year:

2014-2015 NREF Post-Residency Clinical Fellowship
Program Institutions
Cleveland Clinic for Spine Health

Duke University

Johns Hopkins University

Rush University Medical Center
University Health Network, Toronto Western Hospital

University of California, San Francisco

University of Miami

University of South Florida / University of Medical Service Association, Inc

Past NREF Post-Residency Clinical Fellowship Program Institutions

2013-2014 Academic Year
2012-2013 Academic Year
2011-2012 Academic Year
2010-2011 Academic Year

For more information and frequently asked questions, click here.