The NREF website will be undergoing maintenance on Friday, February 12 between 6:00 - 9:00pm CST, and may be unavailable during those hours.
Follow Us:
Research Grants and Young
Clinician Investigator Awards

As the premier funder of neurosurgical studies, the Neurosurgery Research and Education Foundation provides funding for studies in basic, translational and patient-oriented clinical research for investigators in North America through two neurosurgical research grant programs annually.

  • Research Fellowship (One year, $40,000)

Open to residents only, the NREF Research Fellowship provides training for neurosurgeons who are preparing for academic careers as clinician investigators. Applicants must be physicians who have been accepted into, or who are currently in approved residency training programs in neurological surgery in North America. This award requires a 100% time commitment.

  • Young Clinician Investigator Award (One year, $40,000)

The NREF Young Clinician Investigator Award supports junior faculty who are pursuing careers as clinical investigators. Applicants must be neurosurgeons, no more than two years from the end of their clinical training, who are full-time faculty in North American teaching institutions. This award requires a 50% time commitment.

For more information and frequently asked questions, click here.

The 2015-2016 Research Grant and Young Clinician Investigator Award recipients are:

Casey H. Halpern, MD
NREF/Medtronic Research Fellow
Stanford University
Project Title: Responsive neurostimulation for obesity: evidence from a mouse model of diet-induced obesity
Sponsor: Robert Malenka, MD, PhD

Ammar Hawasli, MD
AANS/CNS Section on Disorders of the Spine and Peripheral Nerves Research Fellow
Washington University
Project Title: Resting-state brain functional magnetic resonance imaging to predict functional recovery following spinal cord injury
Sponsor: Wilson Z. Ray, MD

Betty Y.S. Kim, MD
NREF/Columbia Neurosurgery Softball Research Fellowship in Neuro-Oncology
Mayo Clinic College of Medicine
Project Title: Normalizing tumor vasculature to promote targeted nanomedicine delivery and therapy of glioblastoma multiforme
Sponsor: Robert Wharen, MD

Phillipe Magown, MD
NREF and Academy of Neurological Surgery Edward H. Oldfield, MD Research Award
Hotchkiss Brain Institute, University of Calgary
Project Title: Network and neuronal activity evoked by DBS of the ventro-medial prefrontal cortex: a therapeuticmodel for treatment refractory depression.
Sponsor: Zelma Kiss, MD, PhD

Peter Morgenstern, MD
NREF Research Fellow
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Project Title: The role of menin and a novel approach for targeted therapy in Diffuse Intrinsic Pontine Glioma
Sponsor:Viviane Tabar, MD

Ziev Moses, MD
NREF Research Fellow
Massachusetts General Hospital
Project Title: Developing a novel cortical-spinal neural prosthesis for reconstituting volitional movement of a paralyzed limb
Sponsor: Ziv Williams, MD

Amanda Saratsis, MD
Bagan Family Young Clinician Investigator Award
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Project Title: Tenascin-C as a Therapeutic Target in Pediatric Brainstem Glioma
(AGFs) in the development of Medulloblastoma
Sponsor: Andrew T. Parsa, MD, PhD

Gentian Toshkezi, MD
NREF and AANS/CNS Cerebrovascular Section Research Fellow
Project Title: The therapeutic role of hematopoietic growth factors in the subacute phase of traumatic brain injury.
Sponsor: Li-Ru Zhao, MD, PhD

Andrew Venteicher, MD
NREF Research Fellow
Massachusetts General Hospital
Project Title: Identifying human glioma propagating cells and their vulnerabilities using single cell transcriptome sequencing technology
Sponsor: Mario Suva, MD, PhD

Pascal Zinn, MD
NREF and AANS/CNS Joint Section on Tumors Research Fellow
University of Texas, MD Anderson Cancer Center
Project Title: Targeting Radiogenomics-derived core Periostin Correlated Gene Networks in Glioblastoma
Sponsor: Rivka R. Colen, MD

Read testimonials from past NREF awardees (PDF)

Past Awardees

Vijay Agarwal, MD
Zarina S. Ali, MD
Luis Enrique Kolb, MD
Daniel A. Orringer, MD
Rory J. Petteys, MD
Analiz Rodriguez, MD, PhD
Nicholas Szerlip, MD
Michael Tso, MD, PhD
Kristin J. Weaver, MD, PhD
Jon T. Willie, MD, PhD
Wael F. Asaad, MD, PhD
Neil Rainer Malhotra, MD
Katharine M. Cronk, MD
Heather H. McCrea, MD
Richard G. Everson, MD
Timothy Ryan Owens, MD
Fady Girgis, MD
Matthew R. Reynolds, MD
Michael Ivan, MD
Adam M. Sonabend, MD
Pierpaolo Peruzzi, MD
Shawn Hervey-Jumper, MD
Chad Washington, MD
Gary Schwartzbauer, MD
Craig Shannon, MD
Arthur Chou, MD
Michael Oh, MD
Sheila Singh, MD
Nader Sanai, MD
Sameer Sheth, MD, PhD
Stephen Monteith, MD
Nirav Patel, MD
D. Ryan Ormond, MD
Deshdeepak Sahni, MD
Jon Willie, MD
Christoph Hofstetter, MD
Ning Lin, MD
Allen Waziri, MD
Hongyan Jenny Zou, MD
Michael Steinmetz, MD
Kaveh Asadi-Moghaddam, MD
Joel Bauman, MD
Raqeeb M. Haque, MD
Michael T. Koltz, MD
Shahid M. Nimjee, MD, PhD
Zeguang Ren, MD
Demitre Serletis, MD
Michael E. Sughrue, MD
Michael Lim, MD
Aaron Dumont, MD
John Kuo, MD
Jonathan Miller, MD
Rollin Hu, MD
Rahul Jandial, MD
Betty Kim, MD
Pawel Ochalski, MD
Daniel M. Sciubba, MD
Suzanne Tharin, MD
Timothy Vogel, MD
Jason S. Weinstein, MD
Gerald Grant, MD
Brian L. Hoh, MD
Jason Huang, MD
Eve Tsai, MD, PhD
Gregory Zipfel, MD
Justin Cetas, MD, PhD
H. Francis Farhadi, MD, PhD
Andrew Foy, MD
James Frazier, MD
Jason L. Gerrard, MD, PhD
Ming (David) Cheng
Lewis Chun Hou
Eric M. Jackson
Adrian W. Laxton
Daniel A. Lim
Neil R. Malhotra
Wael Musleh
Lyman W. Whitlatch
John Boockvar
Alfredo Quinones-Hinojosa (Deceased)
Michael D. Taylor
G. Edward Vates
Daniel P. Cahill
Ali Chahlavi
Suresh N. Magge
Joseph G. Ong
Gavin W. Britz, MD
William T. Curry, Jr.
Emad Eskandar
James W. Leiphart
Stephen Russell
David Cory Adamson
Ryan DenHaese
Michael Kelly
Brian Ragel
Michael Louis Smith
Maxwell Boakye
Steven Casha
Amy B. Heimberger
Charles Y. Liu
Ramin Amirnovin
Robert J. Kowalski
John S. Kuo
Todd G. Mainprize
Atom Sarkar
Judy Huang
Andrew T. Parsa
Kevin A. Walter
Sheila K. Singh
Ira Garonzik
Charles C. Matouk
Cornelia S. von Koch
Jeffrey P. Blount
Nicholas Boulis
Laurie L. Ackerman
Kent C. New
Adetokunbo A. Oyelese
Michael Taylor
Zelma H.T. Kiss
Theodore H. Schwartz
Dean Chou
John K. Park
Matthew D. Smyth
Michael M. Woodruff
John K. Park
Bruce E. Pollock
Michael A. Vogelbaum
Gregory D. Foltz
Babak S. Jahromi
Sunghoon Lee
Robert E. Gross
John H. Sampson
Tord D. Alden
Judith L. Gorelick
James M. Schuster
Frederick F. Lang
Carl Lauryssen
Amy B. Heimberger
E. Sander Connolly
Adam Mamelak
Frank Feigenbaum
Guy M. McKhann
James M. Markert
D. Kyle Kim
John H. Sampson
Lawrence S. Chin
Mark S. Dias
James D. Guest
William D. Hunter
R. Loch Macdonald
Donald M. O’Rourke
Abbas F. Sadikot
John Paul Elliott
William T. Couldwell
Diana L. Abson Kraemer
Mark S. LeDoux
Stephen L. Skirboll
Ian Pollack
Gregory A. Brandenberg
E. Thomas Chappell
Kenneth Follett
Jeffrey J. Olson
Eric L. Zager
Michael M. Haglund
M. Christopher Wallace
Joung H. Lee
Richard G. Parker (Deceased)
Samuel J. Hassenbusch
Fredric B. Meyer
John Aryanpur
Gary K. Steinberg
Julian K. Wu
Roberta P. Glick
J. Marc Simard
Griffith R. Harsh
Charles J. Weitz
Marc R. Mayberg
Warren R. Selman
Joseph M. Phillips
Steven J. Schiff
Samuel J. Hassenbusch
Robert M. Levy
| |