Follow Us:
Cushing Circle of Giving

Cushing Circle of Giving

Dr. Harvey William CushingThe NREF Cushing Circle of Giving was established in 2008 to provide a cumulative, lifetime and planned giving society for individuals with the goal of increasing donations and creating a premier recognition society. The Cushing Circle honors Dr. Harvey William Cushing, a pioneer in brain surgery, and the father of neurosurgery and provides camaraderie among philanthropists who have made a significant financial commitment to the NREF.

Membership is open to all donors who demonstrate a long-term commitment to advancing neurosurgery with a cash contribution of $25,000 or more, or a deferred gift of $50,000 or more. Cushing Circle members qualify for special recognition and other benefits linked to giving level.

Please visit the Donate page to become a member of the Cushing Circle of Giving.

For more information about becoming part of the Cushing Circle, please contact 847.378.0500 and ask for NREF, or email us

The NREF is pleased to recognize the following Cushing Circle Donors:

PLATINUM: $100,000 and above
Arvind Ahuja, MD, FAANS
Merwyn and Carol Bagan
Mrs. E. Laurie Bittner 
Dr. and Mrs. John Guarnaschelli
Lester A. Mount, MD*
Dr. and Mrs. Albert L.* Rhoton Jr.

GOLD: $75,000-$99,999
Timir Banerjee, MD, FAANS, FACS
Dr. and Mrs. Regis W. Haid, Jr.
Griffith R. Harsh IV, MD, FAANS and Ms. Margaret C. Whitman
Dr. and Mrs. Russel H. Patterson Jr.

SILVER: $50,000-$74,999
Frederick G. Barker II, MD, FAANS, FACS
Charles L. Branch, Jr., MD, FAANS
Hans C. Coester, MD, FAANS, FACS
Robert F. Heary, MD, FAANS
Praveen V. Mummaneni, MD, FAANS
Ann R. Stroink, MD, CPE, FAANS
Ms. Virginia Van Sant Reeves*
Seth M. Weingarten, MD, FAANS(L)

BRONZE: $25,000-$49,999
P. David Adelson, MD, FAANS, FACS
Anthony Asher, MD., FAANS, FACS
John L. D. Atkinson, MD, FAANS
Dr. and Mrs. Nicholas M. Barbaro
H. Hunt Batjer, MD, FAANS, FACS
James R. Bean, MD, FAANS
Mitchel S. Berger, MD, FAANS, FACS
Dr. and Mrs. Gary Bloomgarden
Dr. and Mrs. Frederick A. Boop
Dr. and Mrs. Warren C. Boop Jr.
Jeffrey N. Bruce, MD, FAANS, FACS
Michael A. Chabraja, Esq.
Ali Chahlavi, MD, FAANS
Joseph C. T. Chen, MD, PhD, FAANS
Joseph S. Cheng, MD, MS, FAANS
Lawrence S. Chin, MD, FAANS
Ennio Antonio Chiocca, MD, PhD, FAANS
Aaron A. Cohen-Gadol, MD, FAANS
E. Sander Connolly, Jr., MD, FAANS
Dr. and Mrs. William T. Couldwell
Ralph G. Dacey, Jr., MD, FAANS
John D. Davis, MD, FAANS
H. Gordon Deen, Jr., MD, FAANS
Stewart B. Dunsker, MD, FAANS(L)
Jeremy L. Fogelson, MD, FAANS
Drs. Kevin T. and Lynn M. Foley
Allan H. Friedman, MD, FAANS
Kai-Ming Fu, MD, PhD, FAANS
John G. Golfinos, MD, FAANS
Michael W. Groff, MD, FAANS
Dr. and Mrs. Robert G. Grossman
Dr. and Mrs. Robert L. Grubb Jr.
Mary K. Gumerlock, MD, FAANS
Stephen J. Haines, MD, FAANS
Drs. Robert E. and Kimberly S. Harbaugh
Carl B. Heilman, MD, FAANS
Matthew A. Howard III, MD, FAANS
Jason H. Huang, MD, FAANS, FACS
Theodore R. Jacobs, MD, FAANS
N. Ross Jenkins, MD, FAANS
Michael G. Kaiser, MD, FAANS, FACS
A. Bernhard Kliefoth III, MD, FAANS(L)
John Joseph Knightly, MD, FAANS
Mark J. Kubala, MD, FAANS(L)
Charles Kuntz, MD, FAANS*
Shekar N. Kurpad, MD, PhD, FAANS
Benjamin B. LeCompte III, MD, FAANS(L)
Dr. and Mrs. Robert Levinthal
Michael J. Link, MD, FAANS
Mark E. Linskey, MD, FAANS
Robert L. Martuza, MD, FAANS
Catherine Anne Mazzola, MD, FAANS
Paul C. McCormick, MD, FAANS
Mark R. McLaughlin, MD, FACS, FAANS
Fredric B. Meyer, MD, FAANS
L. Madison Michael II, MD, FAANS
Hiroshi Nakagawa, MD
Anil Nanda, MD, MPH, FAANS, FACS
Eric W. Nottmeier, MD, FAANS
Dr. and Mrs. Herbert* Oestreich
D. Ryan Ormond, MD
Mr. Joseph and Dr. Susan Pannullo
Rob G. Parrish, MD, PhD, FAANS
David Peterson
Joseph M. Piepmeier, MD, FAANS
Bruce E. Pollock, MD, FAANS
A. John Popp and Margaret M. Vosburgh
Ashutosh Ashok Pradhan, MD, FAANS
Donald O. Quest, MD, FAANS(L)
Dr. and Mrs. Robert A. Ratcheson
Eric Loren Rhoton, MD, FAANS
James Thomas Robertson, MD, FAANS(L)
Jon H. Robertson, MD, FAANS, FACS
Gail L. Rosseau, MD, FAANS
Dr. and Mrs. Richard L. Rovit
James T. Rutka, MD, PhD, FAANS
Raymond Sawaya, MD, FAANS
Dr. and Mrs. John F.* Schuhmacher
Edward L. Seljeskog, MD, PhD, FAANS(L)
Dr. and Mrs. Warren R. Selman
Christopher I. Shaffrey, MD, FAANS
J. Marc Simard, MD, PhD, FAANS
Justin S. Smith, MD, PhD, FAANS
Robert A. Solomon, MD, FAANS
Volker K. H. Sonntag, MD, FAANS(L)
Jeffrey M. Sorenson, MD, FAANS
Drs. Mark A. Spatola and Mihaela Ionescu
Robert F. Spetzler, MD, FAANS
Drs. Shelly D. Timmons and Russell A. Carter
Troy M. Tippett, MD, FAANS(L), FACS
Roland A. Torres, MD, FAANS
Luis Manuel Tumialan, MD, FAANS
Alex B. Valadka, MD, FAANS, FACS
Craig Andrew Van Der Veer, MD, FAANS
G. Edward Vates, MD, PhD, FAANS, FACS
Michael Y. Wang, MD, FAANS
Clarence B. Watridge, MD, FAANS(L), FACS
Robert E. Wharen, Jr., MD, FAANS
David Whelan
John A. Wilson, MD, FAANS, FACS
Ahmet Yildizhan, MD, IFAANS
Gregory J. Zipfel, MD, FAANS
Mario Zuccarello, MD

The following institutions have committed to supporting the Cushing Circle of Giving:
Brigham and Women's Hospital Department of Neurosurgery
California Association of Neurological Surgeons
CNSA Partners
Cleveland Clinic
Columbia University Medical Center
Henry Ford Hospital
University of Pennsylvania Department of Neurosurgery
Louisiana Neurosurgical Society
Massachusetts General Hospital Department of Neurosurgery
Mayfield Clinic
Mayo Clinic-Department of Neurologic Surgery
Mayo Clinic-Florida Department of Neurosurgery
New England Neurosurgical Society
Pennsylvania State University Department of Neurosurgery
Pennsylvania Neurosurgical Society
Rocky Mountain Neurosurgical Society
Rush University Medical Center Department of Neurosurgery
Semmes-Murphey Clinic/University of Tennessee
Southern Neurosurgical Society
Tennessee State Neurological Society
Toronto Western Hospital
University of Utah Department of Neurosurgery
The University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center - Dept of Neurological Surgery
University of Virginia Department of Neurosurgery
UPMC-Department of Neurological Surgery
UT Southwestern Department of Neurological Surgery Faculty
Weill Cornell Neurological Surgery Department, Dr. Philip Stieg, Chairman
Western Neurosurgical Society

*Denotes Deceased Donor

| |