Follow Us:
NREF Post-residency Clinical Fellowship Program

As the premier funder of neurosurgical studies and education, the Neurosurgery Research & Education Foundation (NREF) focuses on providing fellowship funding in basic neuroscience and neurosurgical programs in North America.

The NREF encourages institutions to apply for funding for clinical neurosurgical fellowships in spine surgery, endovascular neurosurgery, general neurosurgery, neurocritical care, neurosurgical oncology, cranial base surgery, other cerebrovascular-related fellowships, pediatric neurosurgery, peripheral nerve surgery and stereotactic/functional neurosurgery.

The NREF will be responsible for all aspects of the fellowship grant program, including acceptance, review and approval of fellowship grant applications. The NREF will award fellowship grants based upon established program eligibility criteria and the needs of the requesting institution.

Fully funded fellowship grants will be awarded in the amount of $75,000 for spine surgery and $50,000 for all others. Depending on available support, grants may be awarded in lesser amounts. Institutions are limited to one (1) fellowship grant application per category per year with the exception of spine where one adult spine fellowship application and one pediatric spine fellowship application will be accepted. The grant is intended to cover the salary and benefits for the fellow first and some, if not all, related non-salary direct costs. Fellowship funds may not be used for indirect fellowship costs.

The NREF recognizes the following corporations for their support of the NREF Post-residency Clinical Fellowship program:

The following programs have been awarded fellowship grants for the 2017-2018 academic year:

  • Cedars Sinai Medical Center
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • University of Miami
  • University of Pittsburgh Physicians
  • University of Virginia
  • University of Wisconsin

Past NREF Post-residency Clinical Fellowship Program Institutions

2016-2017 Academic Year

2015-2016 Academic Year

2014-2015 Academic Year

2013-2014 Academic Year

2012-2013 Academic Year

2011-2012 Academic Year

2010-2011 Academic Year

For more information and frequently asked questions, click here.

| |