Success Stories

Neurosurgeons practice a specialty that is challenging and rewarding, allowing for the pursuit of technical excellence, academic rigor and patient service.

Throughout history, neurosurgery has produced many inspiring physicians – men and women dedicated to education and scholarship who’ve served as mentors and colleagues to today’s leaders in neurosurgery. More importantly, their work has changed the landscape of our specialty, moving the practice of neurosurgery forward.

Neurosurgeons have also made their mark in the culture through philanthropy and engagement in literature and the arts.

The Neurosurgery Research & Education Foundation (NREF) is proud to have played a role in supporting neurosurgeons and advancing the specialty.

Since its inception, the NREF has invested over $30 million in the future of neurosurgery. As the premier funder of neurosurgical studies, the NREF extends opportunities for neurosurgeons to collaborate and make progress in the diagnosis and treatment of neurological disorders and improved patient care.

An award from the NREF can have an extraordinary impact on a medical career, serving as a springboard for future professional opportunities. For example:

  • NREF grant recipients have received over $353 million in NIH funding. Each dollar granted by the NREF resulted in 36 NIH dollars.
  • 82% of NREF awardees between 2000 and 2015 obtained later funding totaling over $770M – an impact ratio of $1:$134.
  • Over 30% of NREF grant recipients have gone on to receive NIH funding and nearly 20% have become chairs of academic departments.

What neurosurgeons do today will not only influence the field now, but will also resonate long into the future. The NREF celebrates the member neurosurgeons and award recipients making a difference in our specialty, our communities and in our culture.

Akop Seksenyan, MD
Peter Kan, MD, FAANS

The NREF training was invaluable, and I could never have become a successful researcher without the time spent supported by the NREF.

Steven J. Schiff, MD, PhD, FAANS, 1984 NREF Research Fellowship Grant recipient
Teresa Purzner, MD
Visish M. Srinivasan, MD
Andrew P. Carlson, MD, MS, FAANS
Maria Peris-Celda, MD, PhD
Dr. Kim Rickert
Dr. Bryan Choi
Albert Alan
Dr. Ezequiel Goldschmidt
Dr. Mohammed Alshareef
Mr. Oliver Tang
Mr. Anthony Piscopo
Dr. Timir Banerjee
Dr. Oluwaseun O. Akinduro
Dr. Analiz Rodriguez
Dr. Lisa Feldman

NREF is the Philanthropic Arm of the AANS

Contact Us

5550 Meadowbrook Industrial Ct.
Rolling Meadows, IL 60008-3852