Individual Donor Recognition

The Neurosurgery Research & Education Foundation Recognizes 2021-2022 Donors

Each year, the NREF conducts a charitable campaign to raise funds for research, education and outcomes studies in neurosurgery. These areas are vital to the advancement of neurosurgery.

The NREF fiscal year is from July 1, 2021 through June 30, 2022. The Board of Directors of the NREF is grateful for the support of donors whose contributions support research and education that enhance and confirm the critical role neurosurgeons play in improving lives


I give to NREF to improve the care I can offer my patients. I give to NREF to help expand the scientific curiosity of the best and brightest young physicians. I give to NREF to advance the science and understanding of nature that we all need to know. I give to NREF because I love my profession. Please, give to NREF — for your patients, for the future, and for neurosurgery.

Gary M. Bloomgarden, MD, FAANS, past NREF Board Secretary and Cushing Circle of Giving Member

Thank You for Supporting Neurosurgical Research and Education

Major-Gifts of $25,000 to $49,999

Dr. Jason Haitao Huang and Mrs. Kate Huang

Major-Gifts of $10,000 to $24,999

Martina and Ricardo Hanel

Summa Cum Laude-Gifts of $5,000 to 9,999

Michael W. Groff, MD, FAANS

Jacques J. Morcos, MD, FAANS, FACS

Prasad Mummaneni, MD

Raymond Sawaya, MD, FAANS

Theodore H. Schwartz MD

Gregory J. Zipfel, MD, FAANS

Magna Cum Laude-Gifts of $2,500 to $4,999

Sepideh Amin-Hanjani, MD, FAANS

Bob Horne

Catherine A Mazzola

Joseph C. T. Chen, MD, PhD, FAANS

Carl B. Heilman, MD, FAANS

Theodore R. Jacobs, MD, FAANS

Kim L. Rickert, MD, FAANS

Eric B. Schubert, MD, FAANS

Michael Schulder, MD, FAANS

Mark Edwin Shaffrey, MD, FAANS

John A. Wilson, MD, FAANS, FACS

Cum Laude-Gifts of $1,000 to $2,499

Owoicho Adogwa, MD, MPH

Anthony L. Asher, MD, FAANS, FACS

Kenneth S. Blumenfeld, MD, FAANS

Lawrence S. Chin, MD, FAANS, FACS

D. Ryan Ormond

Dan Riew

David A. Sun, MD, PhD

David P. Gruber, MD, FAANS

Regis W. Haid, Jr., MD, FAANS

Houston Brain and Spine LLC

Michael Edward Ivan, MD, FAANS

Jeremiah Nicholas Johnson, MD, FAANS

Jeffrey K. Kachmann, MD, FAANS

Ranjit Kumar Laha, MD, FAANS(L)

David Delmar Limbrick, Jr., MD, PhD, FAANS

Marjorie Wang

Praveen V. Mummaneni, MD, FAANS

Edjah Kweku-Ebura Nduom, MD, FAANS

Craig H. Rabb, MD, FAANS, FACS

Walavan Sivakumar, MD

Ann R. Stroink, MD, FAANS

Kevin Renard Teal, MD, FAANS

Luis Manuel Tumialan, MD, FAANS

Rachana Tyagi, MD, FAANS

Honor Roll -- Gifts of $500 to $999

Nitin Agarwal, MD

David W. Andrews, MD, FAANS, FACS

Anthony "Tony" Asher

Ramon A. Batson, MD, FAANS

Jeffrey P. Blount, MD, FAAP, FAANS

Alfred P. Bowles, Jr., MD, FAANS

Clemens M. Schirmer

Scott G. Cutler, MD, FAANS

John J. Demakas, MD

Ryan P. Den Haese, MD, FAANS

William F. Ganz, MD, FAANS, FACS

Gordon Li

Gregory Corradino

Christopher P. Kellner, MD, FAANS

Michael H. Lavyne, MD, FAANS(L)

John M. McGregor, MD, FAANS

Bradford B. Mullin, MD, FAANS, FACS

Bobby Mummaneni

Nathan T. Zwagerman

Todd A. Patrick, MD, PhD, FAANS

Donald O. Quest, MD, FAANS(L)

Richard B. Rodgers, MD, FAANS

Clemens M. Schirmer, MD, PhD, FAANS

Set Shahbabian, MD, FAANS(L)

Scott R. Shepard, MD, FAANS

Wayne G. Villanueva, MD, FAANS, FACS

Sponsor - Gifts of $250 to $499

Esam Mohammad Abdulmoneim Hanafi, MD, IFAANS

Rodney Stewart Allan, FRACS, IFAANS

Alan J. Appley, MD, FAANS, FACS

Kenan Arnautovic, MD, PhD, FAANS, FACS

Donald P. Atkins, MD, FAANS, FACS

Raghunath Avanali, MCh

Ulrich Batzdorf, MD, FAANS(L)

Kevin L. Boyer, MD, FAANS

J. Kenneth Burkus, MD

Marc Cabanne, DO

Luis A. Cervantes, MD, FAANS, FACS

Tsulee Chen, MD, FAANS

E. Antonio Chiocca, MD, PhD, FAANS

Jeffrey L. Crecelius, MD, FAANS

William T. Curry, Jr., MD, FAANS

Franco DeMonte, MD, FAANS, FACS

James D. Dillon, MD, FAANS

Sonia V. Eden, MD, FAANS

Aaron G. Filler, MD, PhD

Marc H. Friedberg, MD, PhD, FAANS

Cesare Giorgi, MD, IFAANS

Grace E. Park, MD, MPH

Robert F. Heary, MD, FAANS

Fraser C. Henderson, MD, FAANS

John K. Houten, MD, FAANS

Sam P. Javedan, MD, FAANS

John K. Park, MD, PhD

John Joseph Knightly, MD, FAANS

Tyler Robert Koski, MD, FAANS

Dean B. Kostov, MD, FAANS

Mark D. Krieger, MD, FAANS

John A. Lancon, MD, FAANS

Demetrius K. Lopes, MD, FAANS

John A. Lopez, MD, FAANS

Neil R. Malhotra, MD, FAANS

Roberto Martinez-Alvarez, MD, PhD, IFAANS

Rajiv Midha, MD, MS, FAANS, FRCSC

Brian Vala Nahed, MD, FAANS

Chiedozie Nwagwu, MD, FAANS

Hilary C. Onyiuke, MD, FAANS

Brett A. Osborn, DO FAANS

Aurel Oslobanu, MD

Stefan G. Pribil, MD, FAANS

Mark R. Proctor, MD, FAANS

Maryam Rahman, MD, FAANS

Randall Smith MD

Amed A. Rawanduzy, MD, FAANS

Rick Abbott

Ben Z. Roitberg, MD, FAANS

Szymon S. Rosenblatt, MD, FAANS

James T. Rutka, MD, PhD, FAANS

Scott Simon

Warren R. Selman, MD, FAANS

Ashwini D. Sharan, MD, FAANS

Harshpal Singh, MD, FAANS

William W. S. So, MD, FAANS(L)

Antonio Soriano, MD

Nicholas Theodore, MD, FAANS, FACS

Arumugam Thiruvalluvan, MBBS MCh

Daniel J. Tomes, MD, FAANS

John R. Tompkins, MD, FAANS

Ryan Scott Trombly, MD, FAANS

Rand M. Voorhies, MD, FAANS

Andrew E. Wakefield, MD, FAANS

Jeremy C. Wang, MD, FAANS

Marshall T. Watson, MD FAANS

Jefferson Webster, MD

Martin E. Weinand, MD, FAANS, FACS

Joshua T. Wewel, MD

Dennis D. Winters, MD, FAANS

Masaaki Yamamoto, MD, IFAANS

Ahmet Yildizhan, MD, IFAANS

Supporter - Gifts of $100 to $249

Wilson T. Asfora, MD, FAANS, FACS

Bob Carney

David A. Carter, MD, PhD, FAANS(L)

Steven D. Chang, MD, FAANS

Charles H. Tator

Joseph S. Cheng, MD, MS, FAANS

Joacir Graciolli Cordeiro, MD, PhD

Frank Culicchia, MD

Anthony DiGianfilippo, MD, FAANS

Jose Dones-Vazquez, MD, FAANS

Nathaniel R. Ellens, MD

Michael H. Freed, MD, FAANS(L)

Georgiana Dobri

Gabriel A. Gonzales-Portillo, MD, FAANS, FACS

Jordan C. Grabel, MD, FAANS

Yannick Grenier, MD, FAANS

Jared Knopman, MD

Kirk W. Jobe, MD, FAANS

Stephen D. Johnson, MD, FAANS

Stanley H. Kim, MD, FAANS

Richard S. Kyle, MD, FAANS(L)

Grant William Mallory, MD, FAANS

Nobuhito Morota, MD, IFAANS

Edward C. Murphy, MD, FAANS

Lawrence G Nelson, MD

Gautam Phookan, MD, FAANS

Mohsin Qadeer, MBBS FCPS

Rachana Tyagi, MD

Redi Rahmani, MD

Roger Hartl MD

Robert W.J. Ryan, MD, FAANS, MSc, FRCSC

Oszkar Szentirmai, MD, FAANS

Tetsuo Tatsumi, MD

Samuel Michael Taylon, MD, FAANS

Jamie Toms, MD

Kevin Wade, MD

Jason Samuel Weinstein, MD, FAANS


Raphael Bertani, MD

Joanne M. Bonaminio

Catherine Jeakle Hill

Cheryl Garfield

Cletus Cheyuo, MD, PhD

Rebekah Crump-Austin, MD, FAANS

Dr. and Mrs. James Anderson

Esther Cleveland Beeson Dupepe, MSPH, MD

Derek Groskreutz

Mark Huebsch

Jorge J. Inga, MD, FAANS

Saleh Rajab Kashba, MB ChB, PhD

Kevin V. Kelly, MD, FAANS

Majid Khan

Joseph R. Linzey, MD, MS

Mahendra Madesh, Mch Neurosurgery

Penelope Mantilla Farfan, MBBS

Virgilio Matheus, MD, FAANS

Laura McGuire, MD

Raimonds Mikijanskis, MD, IFAANS

Adrienne Moraff, MD

Neil Majmundar

Tomasz P Olszewski

Shervin Rahimpour, MD

Andres Mariano Rubiano, MD, PhD(c), FACS, IFAANS

Luis E. Savastano, MD

The Nestler Family

Subbiah Thiruppathy

Tomasz Olszewski

Vamsi Reddy

William Mack

Zoya Voronovich, MD

NREF is the Philanthropic Arm of the AANS

Contact Us

5550 Meadowbrook Industrial Ct.
Rolling Meadows, IL 60008-3852