Due to scheduled site maintenance, you may be unable to log in or utilize certain site functionality from 7 pm CT on Friday, Dec. 4 throught Saturday, Dec. 5.

Congratulations to 2019-2020 CV Section Traveling Fellowship Recipients

The NREF is pleased to announce that Gaurav Gupta, MD, and Kim Rickert, MD, FAANS, have been selected as recipients of the 2019 Joint Cerebrovascular Section Traveling Fellowship.

The announcement was made during the 2019 AANS/CNS Cerebrovascular Section Annual Meeting in Honolulu.

Dr. Gupta will be conducting his week-long traveling fellowship at the Stanford University School of Medicine-Neurosurgery under the supervision and mentorship of Gary K. Steinberg, MD, PhD, FAANS, while Dr. Rickert will be conducting her fellowship with Adnan Siddiqui, MD, PhD, FAANS, at State University of New York at Buffalo.

Dr. Gaurav Gupta

Dr. Kim Rickert

The Cerebrovascular Section Traveling Fellowship allows a practicing neurointerventionalist (of any specialty) to visit a high-volume cerebrovascular center for a one-week observership.

Adam S. Arthur, MD, MP H, FAANS, of Semmes-Murphey Clinic in Memphis, Tenn., and Clemens M. Schirmer, MD, PhD, FAANS, of Geisinger Health System in Wilkes-Barre, Penn., oversee this fellowship program. According to Dr. Arthur, “This fellowship helps facilitate the spread of information from experienced centers and operators to those with less experience. The rapid evolution of our field and the increase in the number of cerebrovascular centers has created a need for this program.”

The fellowship has received enthusiastic support from NREF industry partners in this program – Medtronic and MicroVention – providing long-term support that will fund two fellowships annually. “Their commitment to the NREF mission will ensure that tomorrow’s neurosurgical leaders continue to receive cutting-edge experience to expand their knowledge and improve patient care,” stated NREF Vice Chair Michael W. Groff, MD, FAANS.

The fellowship’s inaugural recipients – Peter Kan, MD, FAANS, and Andrew Carlson, MD, FAANS – have submitted their reports. Members can read more about their experiences on the NREF website Success Stories section.

The application for the 2020 Cerebrovascular Section Traveling Fellowship will be available beginning September 1, 2019, through the NREF Online Grant Portal. For more information about the Cerebrovascular Section Traveling Fellowship or other NREF grant programs, contact Kathleen McMichael at 847.378.0535 or

NREF is the Philanthropic Arm of the AANS

Contact Us

5550 Meadowbrook Industrial Ct.
Rolling Meadows, IL 60008-3852